The Unreasonable Customer – Part 1

My girlfriend complains that I nitpick a lot, and she is right, but as an observer in the world of eCommerce I see many instances where marketers fail to take money from eager customers.

Today I came across a documentary called “Pitch People” and after seeing the trailer I decided to see if Netflix carried it. They didn’t. But even if they didn’t carry the movie I feel this was an opportunity for NetFlix to say “Hey Rishi, while we don’t carry Pitch People we think you might like this other documentary on the history of selling”. Or something like that.

Is it complicated to set up such a system? Sure. Would it make me buy more? Definitely.

Alternative: “We expect to get this title soon.  Please drop your email address to be the first to know when it becomes available.”

netflixcom.png

While I’m nitpicking, I might as well do some more. According to Internet Retailer limogesjewelry.com is a top 10 jewelry site. I performed a search for ‘blank bracelet’ (and other related terms) and received a ‘no matches’ message. Bracelets is a big category on their site and while I understand they don’t carry non-inscribed bracelets I feel they could have handled my query better. For example, they could have said “While we don’t carry blank bracelets we do have some pretty cool inscribed ones, shown here” or “while we don’t carry non-inscribed bracelets other online retailers like x.com and y.com do. For any future need for personalized jewelry do give us a visit”

limogesjewelrycom.png

Leave a Reply

