I Don’t Know Why This Bothers Me So Much

While on the oakley.com I wanted to check out what they had for prescription glasses so I went to their search box and keyed in “prescription”.  The results page highlighted a related New Release, Top Seller and Featured Item.  Brilliant idea.  Below that they also presented a result set of 96 items:

Search on oakley.com

Much later, after several other clicks, I discovered Oakley also has a homepage for prescription glasses, see below:

What I don’t understand is why my search couldn’t just take me to this page.

4 thoughts on “I Don’t Know Why This Bothers Me So Much

  1. Great post and yes, it’s shocking how bad some site search tools are. The sites have them there to help…but in fact they hinder!

    I recently posted a study from tealeaf technology and it’s scary to think that 21% of abandoned transactions happen because of search functions NOT working properly.

    There are 6 other no-no’s as well – if interested go to:
    http://blog.sitebrand.com/2008/03/26/why-do-9-out-of-10-consumers-abandon-transactions/

  2. Not that its a good excuse but I’m sure that search is programmed to return products and not pages. I think it definitely makes more sense to return the prescription page though.

Leave a Reply

