An Unnecessary Email With A Very Important Marketing Purpose

There is absolutely no need for epicurious.com to send this email-

Browsers store login information indefinitely.  Plus there are cookies.  Finally, I can always click the forgot password? link on their site.  So why did epicurious.com send this email?  Because their user data probably says something like, “users that don’t visit in over 60 days have a 3% chance of never returning”.

What’s clever about this email is the copywriting.  It suggests not clicking the link will deactivate my account.  Even though I don’t visit the site (thus the email message) I don’t want my account deleted (what if I need to look-up a recipe in the future?) so I click the link.  I bet 80% of recipients do the same.  Last week my top of mind recipe site was allrecipes.com, this morning it’s allrecipes.com and epicurious.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s